Rental Assistance and Eviction
The COVID-19 pandemic has taken its toll on our country and many people nationwide are feeling the heavy weight of its economic consequences including job losses and other major impacts to income stability. The following is a list of resources available to those seeking assistance with housing and rental issues in particular.
cdc moratorium on evictions
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) issued a national moratorium on evictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic, effective through Jan. 31, 2021. Tenants need to meet certain criteria to qualify for eviction protection, and they are required to act in order to receive it, by filling out this CDC form and delivering it to their landlord.
The receipt of the form prevents an eviction from being initiated against the tenant, or halts an eviction process that is underway.
This action ensures renters impacted by COVID-19 will be able to stay in their homes while extending the time to access rental assistance programs. However, the tenant is still responsible for all of the rent due, and must follow all other terms of the lease.
arizona department of housing
Governor Doug Ducey issued an Executive Order delaying the enforcement of eviction action orders for renters impacted by COVID-19. Moratorium on residential evictions was effective through October 31, 2020.
Rental Assistance & Eviction Protection Programs: Arizona Department of Housing
pima county rental assistance & eviction prevention
The Pima County Community Action Agency’s COVID-19 Rental Eviction Assistance program may provide rent up to a maximum of $2,000 per month, for multiple months if needed. The payment goes directly to the landlord.
- How to apply? Apply online at Arizona Department of Housing Self-Assessment for Rental Assistance or call toll free 2-1-1 to apply via telephone or for assistance in completing the application.
- You will need:
- Your state-issued photo ID
- A copy of your current lease
- Documents proving the crisis that caused you to get behind on your rent
Unique program, funded at $3.625 million from the County’s CARES Act funds and distributed by the Community Investment Corporation that allows landlord/property owners and tenants to initiate the application process. The program will pay outstanding rents as far back as March 2020, as well as prepay through November, if necessary. Fill out the application form or call 831-292-4308 for more information.
- Qualification Criteria:
- Lives in Pima County
- Tenant is at risk of eviction (has been issued notice of eviction or is in court proceedings)
- Tenant has experienced a financial crisis due to COVID-19
- Household income does not exceed 120% of Area Median Income
- At least one person in household is a legal resident in the U.S.
- Tenant completes an application and submits proper documentation
- Rent is $2,000 per month or less (or landlord agrees to lower payment if higher)
- Payment request does not include months already covered by another rental/eviction assistance program
- Landlord agrees to Eviction Payment Plan with renter, which includes:
- Waiving late fees or interest payments on late rent
- Commitment not to further pursue eviction during period covered
- Reversing/withdrawing eviction proceedings
- Providing additional documentation (e.g. lease agreement, proof of last payment made, etc.)
ongoing local rental/utility assistance and eviction prevention
Valley Assistance Services
Programs for Families & Seniors in the Sahuarita and Green Valley region
Assistance for housing, utilities, financial education and workforce training, in addition to other health and safety programs
3950 S. Camino del Heroe Green Valley, AZ 85614
Call to make an appointment: 520-625-5966